Guardians of the Public's Health

AAPHP 3rd Annual Public Health Physician Summit Series


June 5-6, 2019 (prior to AMA Conference)

Hosted at Chicago State University’s (CSU) Gwendolyn Brooks Library

 9501 S. King Dr., Chicago, IL 60628

Note : Agenda for the Annual meeting June 6 at 3:30 - 4:30 PM Central Time By Phone or in Person: AAPHP GENERAL BUSINESS QUARTERLY BUSINESS MEETING JUNE 2019.pdf

Wednesday, June 5 and Thursday, June 6, Library Level 4

Dial-In: (515) 604-9963, Access Code: 611198, Online:

Summit Chairs: Dr. John Bradley, Thomas Britt, M.D, MPH, & Dennis Garrett M.D.



AAPHP/ CAHMCP (Chicago Area Health and Medical Careers Program)/ Health Policy Institute of Chicago (HPI) Policy Forum


Directors: Melvin Daniels, Ph.D., Roland Walker, M.D., Dave Cundiff, M.D., MPH, Dyi Kinney, M.D. MPH MAT



Wednesday June 5, 2019


9:00-9:55am       Continental Breakfast Provided and Registration


10:00-10:15am   Welcome Address: Dr. Dennis Garrett, M.D., President of the AAPHP & HMCDIP3­­­


10:15-12:00am What is the New CHAMCP, the Continuum, its DNA, and Replication: Health Manpower and Career Development Institute: Pipeline, Preparation, Partnership (HMCDIP3 also known as Champs)



                                 Florence Thicklin Parent and CAHMCP//HMCDIP3­­ ­­

                              Ronald Rembert, M.D. President of CAHMCP Alumni Development & AAPHP Board Member

                            Dr. Ozell Hubert, Pharm. D. Champs in Alabama

                                 Andre Thomas, M.D. Champs in Texas 

                                 Dr. Melvin Daniels, Ph.D. Professor at CSU & Pre-Medicine Director at CSU

                                 Dr. Justin Akujieze, Ph.D. Professor of Physicist a CSU

                            Respondents: Dr. John Bradley Creator of CAHMCP/HMCDIP3

                                            Dennis Garrett, M.D. President of AAPHPP CAHMCP/HMCDIP3­­     

                                                   Stephanie Miles 4th Year Medical Student & CAHMCP/ HMCDIP3­

                                            Lloyd Sealey 2nd Year Medical Student & CAHMCP/ HMCDIP3­


12:00-12:30am      Lunch will be Provided


12:30pm – 3:30pm Preventive Services Tool Kit Seminar (PSTK): Slides will be available onsite/online

                                   Lecturers: Joel Nitzkin, M.D., MPH, AAPHP Board Member & former AAPHP President

                                                    Dave Cundiff, M.D., MPH AAPHP Delegate to AMA & former AAPHP President


3:30pm-4:30pm   Moderator: Thomas Britt, M.D., MPH of HPI of Chicago

Presentation on Pilot Veganism in a Local Mega Church: Dr. Terry Mason, M.D., MPH


4:30-5:00pm        Topic: Meet CHAMP Physician Fellows, Staff Interns & Preceptees

Moderator: Lloyd Sealey Medical Student RFUMS & AAPHP Staff Intern




Thursday, June 6, 2019



9:00-9:55am           Continental Breakfast Provided and Registration


10:00-10:15am       Announcements, Updates: Dr. Thomas Britt, M.D. AAPHP President Elect & President of HPI


10:15a-12:00pm   AAPHP/CAHMCP Policy Forum: Panel Presentation

                         Topic: E-Cigarettes & Nicotine Harm Reduction Challenges

                         Moderator: Dr. Thomas Britt, M.D., MPH President Elect-AAPHP, Creator of the HPI in Chicago

                          Panelist:  Joel Nitzkin, M.D., MPH, AAPHP Board Member & former President of AAPHP

    Robert Winn, M.D. Pulmonologist, Vice Chancellor of U of I Community Clinics

                                         David Cundiff, M.D., AAPHP former AAPHP President



12:00-1:00am      Lunch will be Provided


1:00-3:30pm        AAPHP/CAHMCP Policy Forum: Panel Presentation

                                 Topic: Opioid Crisis and Challenges: Urban and Rural

                                  Moderator: Damon Arnold, M.D., MPH, AAPHP Board Member, former IDPH Director


                                                  Felicia Davis, M.D., MPH, Addiction Specialist and Cook County Physician Assoc.

                                           Yihoodah Y. Green, M.D., Healing Hands Resource Center & AAPHP Board Member

                                           Bonnie Thomas, M.D. MPH(c), Komed Holman Clinics

                                           MaryAnne C. Murray DNP Ed.D. Affiliate AAPHP Member

                                           Danny Davis, Ph.D. Congressman of Illinois



3:30-4:45pm        General Members Meeting/ Business Meeting


4:45-5:00pm          Wrap Up/Adjourn



All AAPHP and CAHMCP members are invited to attend all events either in person or via teleconference.

Please consider volunteering for a committee and inviting a colleague.


The Registration is Complimentary but not required for the AAPHP/CAHMCP Policy Forum.


Go to to register, for updates and more information. Contact (773) 945-1485 with questions.


Thanks for your support and we look forward to seeing you at the Summit!



 Join or Renew Your AAPHP membership Today

© American Association of Public Health Physicians

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software